Close X


Refused a Breathalyzer Test in Rhode Island? Here's Why You Need the Help of Marin and Barrett Law Firm's DUI Defense Attorneys

Posted by Matthew Marin | Apr 12, 2023 | 0 Comments

If you're driving in Rhode Island and get pulled over under suspicion of DUI, the police officer may ask you to take a breathalyzer test. Refusing to do so can lead to serious consequences, including immediate license suspension at your first court appearance and long-term license suspension or ignition interlock requirements. You may also face hefty fines, costs, and assessments and mandatory community service. In this blog post, we discuss the potential penalties for refusing a breathalyzer test and emphasize the importance of seeking the guidance of experienced DUI defense attorneys like Attorney Kensley Barrett and Attorney Angelica Bovis of Marin and Barrett Law Firm. They can help you fight for your driving privileges and defend you against criminal charges. If you have been charged with refusing a breathalyzer test in Rhode Island, contact Marin and Barrett Law Firm today for a free consultation.

The Importance of Hiring a Skilled DUI Defense Lawyer in Rhode Island

Posted by Matthew Marin | Apr 03, 2023 | 0 Comments

This blog post highlights the importance of hiring an experienced drunk driving defense attorney when facing DUI charges in Rhode Island. It provides an overview of the state's DUI laws and the potential penalties for a conviction, including fines, license suspensions, community service, and mandatory alcohol treatment. The post emphasizes the need for legal expertise, strategic defense, plea negotiations, trial experience, and license restoration, all of which a skilled DUI defense attorney can provide. The conclusion urges anyone facing DUI charges to consult with an attorney and take action to protect their rights and secure the best possible outcome for their case.

I was on private property when I was arrested for DUI. Can the police do that?

Posted by Matthew Marin | Oct 14, 2017 | 0 Comments

Yes, the Rhode Island DUI law allows the police to arrest you for DUI on private property (even while they cannot do the same in Massachusetts). But, if you are charged with DUI on private property you should seek the representation and guidance of an experienced Rhode Island DUI lawyer to explore and utilize any potential defenses that may be available to you.

Can you refuse a Preliminary Breath Test in Rhode Island?

Posted by Matthew Marin | Jul 19, 2017 | 0 Comments

As a motorist you are legally obligated to submit to a preliminary breath test when requested to do so by a law enforcement officer who has reasonable suspicion that you are driving under the influence in the State of Rhode Island. If you are requested to take a preliminary breath test and you refuse, you will be subject to an $85 fine but you will not face the likelihood of a license suspension based on this violation.

Attorney Marin Named A SuperLawyer for Ten Consecutive Years 2014-2023

Attorney Matthew Marin has been named a Rhode Island SuperLawyer for 10 consecutive years from 2014 thru 2023. Each year, no more than 2.5 percent of the lawyers in Rhode Island are selected by the Research Team at Super Lawyers to receive this honor. Super Lawyers selects lawyers who have attained a high degree of peer recognition and professional achievement in their practice area.

Rhode Island Members of the National College for DUI Defense

Attorneys Matthew Marin and Kensley Barrett are both Rhode Island General Members of the National College for DUI Defense. Members represent some of the most experienced and cutting edge DUI defense attorney's throughout the Country. Nationwide, DUI laws are extremely complex and constantly changing and the College facilitates the exchange of innovative defenses throughout the Country.