Close X

Felony DUI Charges in Rhode Island

Rhode Island DUI charges can be classified as either misdemeanor or felony charges.  Although most DUI charges in Rhode Island are classified as misdemeanors, under certain circumstances you could be charged with an extremely serious felony DUI charge. Felony DUI charges in Rhode Island carry severe penalties and frequently result in lengthy prison sentences.  The stakes are exceedingly high if you are charged with a Felony DUI offense and it is vitally important that you have an experienced and aggressive Rhode Island Felony DUI lawyer advocating on your behalf.

The main difference between misdemeanor and felony DUI charges in Rhode Island involves the length of the maximum jail sentence.  A misdemeanor DUI charge in Rhode Island carries a maximum of up to one year in jail.  On the other hand, a felony DUI charge in Rhode Island can carry up to fifteen (15) years and the felony DUI charge can carry a mandatory minimum sentence anywhere from one to five years, even for a first offense.

f you are convicted of a Felony DUI in Rhode Island, in addition to a prison sentence you will also face large fines, lengthy probation, community service, and a license suspension for years.  Moreover, you will likely be required to install an ignition interlock device in order to eventually have your drivers' license reinstated.Contact Attorney Matthew Marin 24/7 for aggressive legal representation on all Rhode Island Felony DUI charges.

What are the different types of Felony DUI Charges in Rhode Island?

  • DUI Death Resulting

  • DUI Resulting in Serious Bodily Injury 

  • Third Offense DUI with Blood Alcohol Content Between 0.08 and 0.15

  • Third Offense DUI with Blood Alcohol Content Over 0.15

What are the Penalties for a Felony DUI Conviction in Rhode Island?

Penalties for a Conviction of DUI Resulting in Death in Rhode Island

  • Mandatory Minimum Five Years in Prison with a Maximum Sentence of Fifteen Years

  • $5,000 to $10,000 Fine

  • License Suspended Indefinitely

Penalties for a Conviction for DUI Resulting in Serious Bodily Injury in Rhode Island

  • Mandatory Minimum One Year in Prison with a Maximum Sentence of Ten Years

  • $1,000 to $5,000 Fine

  • License Revocation of Two Years

Penalties for a Third Offense DUI with BAC Between 0.08 and 0.15 or BAC Unknown

  • Mandatory Minimum One Year in Prison with a Maximum Sentence of Three Years

  • $400 Fine

  • License Suspended for Two to Three Years

  • Possible Forfeiture of the Motor Vehicle

Penalties for a Third Offense DUI with BAC Over 0.15 or DUI of Drugs

  • Mandatory Minimum Three Years in Prison with a Maximum Sentence of Five Years

  • $1,000 to $5,000 Fine

  • Three Year License Suspension

  • Possible Forfeiture of the Motor Vehicle

Information and Sources:

Rhode Island General Laws:

Rhode Island Department of Health – Breathalyzer Rules and Regulations

Attorney Marin Named A Super Lawyers Rising Star Four Consecutive Years 2014-2017

Attorney Matthew Marin was named a Rhode Island Rising Star by Super Lawyers for 4 consecutive years from 2014 thru 2017. Each year, no more than 2.5 percent of the lawyers in Rhode Island are selected by the Research Team at Super Lawyers to receive this honor. Super Lawyers selects lawyers who have attained a high degree of peer recognition and professional achievement in their practice area.


Rhode Island Member of the National College for DUI Defense

Attorney Marin is a Rhode Island General Member of the National College for DUI Defense. Members represent some of the most experienced and cutting edge DUI defense attorney's throughout the Country. Nationwide, DUI laws are extremely complex and constantly changing and the College facilitates the exchange of innovative defenses throughout the Country.