Close X

RHODE ISLAND SUSPENDED LICENSE CHARGES

If your Rhode Island driver's license was suspended, no doubt you were inconvenienced in ways you didn't anticipate. A criminal charge for driving on a suspended license has made your life even more difficult and stressful. But we can help. Call us to discuss your suspended license case today, for some advice from a lawyer experienced in dealing with suspended license issues.

You may not have even known your license was under suspension. This can happen for a variety of reasons, including moving, or a mistake by the DMV in notifying you of the suspension. If it wasn't your fault, we can absolutely challenge the court and fight to get your case dismissed.

Rhode Island Suspended License Lawyers
Attorneys Marin, Barrett, and Parrillo
Call Now to get your Best Defense! 401-228-8271

If you have been charged with Driving With a Suspended License, you need an attorney who will take the time to investigate the circumstances surrounding your arrest and who will explain your options for defense. To discuss your suspended license charges with an aggressive defense lawyer, call or email at [email protected].

 

Suspended License Charges:

Laws and Penalties

 

FIRST OFFENSE DRIVING ON A SUSPENDED LICENSE (as of July 1st, 2016)

  • Civil Penalty (no longer a criminal offense)
  • Mandatory Fine between $250 and $500 shall be imposed

SECOND OFFENSE DRIVING ON A SUSPENDED LICENSE (as of July 1st, 2016) -

  • Civil Penalty (no longer a criminal offense)
  • Mandatory Fine between $350 and $500 shall be imposed

THIRD OFFENSE OFFENSE DRIVING ON A SUSPENDED LICENSE (OR SUBSEQUENT) (as of July 1st, 2016) -

  • Misdmeanor Criminal Offense
  • Up to 90 Day Jail Sentence, in the Discretion of the Sentencing Judge
  • Mandatory Fine between $500 and $1,000
  • Additional License Suspension up to 90 Days
Are there Defenses to Driving on Suspended License Charges?

Yes, there are legitimate defense strategies based on the reasons for the stop, as well as the possibility that your license should not have been suspended in the first place, and DMV errors.

Even if you weren't aware that your license had been suspended, you can still be charged. In most cases, you are notified by the court when your license has been suspended, but ignorance of the suspension does not get you off the hook. If the court believes you were legitimately notified, and should have known about the suspension, you could be convicted.

It is important to hire a skilled defense lawyer as soon as possible to begin the process of gathering evidence and crafting a legal defense to the serious charges you are facing.  Contact our team of Rhode Island Criminal Defense Lawyers at Marin and Barrett, Inc. today to schedule a free, confidential consultation to discuss your case, your rights, and your options.  We can be reached 24/7 by calling (401) 228-8271 or by email at [email protected].

Attorney Marin Named A SuperLawyer for Seven Consecutive Years 2014-2020

Attorney Matthew Marin has been named a Rhode Island SuperLawyer for 7 consecutive years from 2014 thru 2020. Each year, no more than 2.5 percent of the lawyers in Rhode Island are selected by the Research Team at Super Lawyers to receive this honor. Super Lawyers selects lawyers who have attained a high degree of peer recognition and professional achievement in their practice area.


Rhode Island Members of the National College for DUI Defense

Attorneys Marin and Barrett are both Rhode Island General Members of the National College for DUI Defense. Members represent some of the most experienced and cutting edge DUI defense attorney's throughout the Country. Nationwide, DUI laws are extremely complex and constantly changing and the College facilitates the exchange of innovative defenses throughout the Country.