If you have been accused of domestic assault and battery, you are facing an uphill battle. Rhode Island has strengthened their laws on domestic violence, in many cases making arrest and prosecution mandatory regardless of what the alleged victim wishes to do. If you are convicted of a Rhode Island Domestic Assault charge, you may spend up to one year in the jail and pay a fine up to $1,000 and must attend a mandatory batterers intervention program. In addition to that, convictions for domestic violence are public record. It could affect your present and future employment, choice of housing and even your right to purchase firearms. My goal as a RI Domestic Assault Attorney is to achieve the most positive outcome possible, one that will least disrupt your life, your family and your ability to make a living.
Call for a consultation on your case today with a RI Domestic Assault Lawyer. I can offer defense suggestions, and let you know what I can do to beat the case, and keep your record clean. To discuss your criminal charges with an aggressive RI Domestic Assault Lawyer, call 401-228-8271 or email at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Call Now To Speak Directly With A Skilled Rhode Island Domestic Assault Lawyer - 401-228-8271
I take my job as a Rhode Island Domestic Assault Lawyer very seriously, and work relentlessly to achieve the very best results for my clients in and out of court. I strongly believe that a well-planned domestic assault defense strategy and the assistance of an experienced and skillful RI Domestic Assault Attorney can make all the difference between a criminal conviction - and a verdict of "Not Guilty."
Full Text of Rhode Island's Domestic Simple Assault Law
§ 11-5-3 Simple assault or battery. –
(a) Except as otherwise provided in § 11-5-2, every person who shall make an assault or battery or both shall be imprisoned not exceeding one year or fined not exceeding one thousand dollars ($1,000), or both.
(b) Where the provisions of "The Domestic Violence Prevention Act", chapter 29 of title 12, are applicable, the penalties for violation of this section shall also include the penalties as provided in § 12-29-5.