An arrest for possession and/or use of a fake ID in Rhode Island is a serious offense for any young man or woman. If convicted of a first offense, you would face a 30 day loss of drivers license, up to a $500 fine, and 30 hours of community service. These penalties are extremely severe an intended to scare people into not using fake id's.
A Rhode Island fake ID charge can be brought in a number of different situations. We commonly represent college students who are at random asked by the Police for their ID at local bars. This is increasingly common in the beginning of the school year when the Police make their presence felt in an attempt to discourage underage drinking. We have also represented numerous students who have been stopped as they left local liquor stores and asked for proper ID by the Police. The common theme in these cases is that the Police frequently go on the offensive and seek out these cases, especially in the beginning of the school year.
If you are arrested on charges of misrepresentation of age by a minor in Rhode Island, it is important to keep calm and not overreact. Our advice is to seek the counsel and representation of a local attorney who has handled these types of cases before.
One of the benefits of being a local defense attorney is that we know the judges and the prosecutors as soon as you walk in our door to discuss your case. This means that we can maneuver your case and frame the issues in the light most favorable to you and your defense. Each and every Judge and Prosecutor has likely, at one time or another, been in a position just like you where they could have gotten into serious trouble for underage drinking.
If you are a high school or college student, no one in the judicial system is looking to get you thrown out of school and ruin your college career (even though it may seem like the police and public safety want it that way). This means that we can help you take back control of your life and present your case in the most favorable light. This will help us to convince the Judge and the prosecutor to be lenient, cut you a break, and give you a second chance.
If you or a loved one has been arrested and summonsed to court on charges of underage drinking and misrepresentation by underage persons (R.I.G.L. Section 3-8-6), you should contact our firm today at 401-228-8271. We can provide straightforward and honest legal advice and provide you with affordable criminal defense representation for your upcoming court date. Do not hesitate to call, the earlier we can begin putting your defense together the better the result in your case will be.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment