The fine imposed for a DUI conviction in Rhode Island varies based on the nature and severity of the offense charged. For first offense DUI convictions, the fine imposed for can range between $100 and $500. For individuals with blood alcohol concentrations between 0.08 and 0.10 there is a mandatory fine of between $100 and $300. For blood alcohol concentrations between 0.10 and 0.15 and for cases in which the blood alcohol content is unknown, there is a mandatory fine of between $100 and $400. For individuals with blood alcohol concentrations greater than 0.15, there is a mandatory fine of $500.
For both second and third offense DUI convictions, the fine for individuals with a blood alcohol concentration between 0.08 and 0.15 and for those whose blood alcohol concentration is unknown, there is a mandatory fine of $400. The fine for second and third offense DUI convictions where the individuals blood alcohol concentration is greater than 0.15, there is a mandatory $1,000 fine.
Every DUI charge brings substantial monetary penalties in addition to the fine imposed by the Court. Oftentimes, the other financial penalties are substantially greater than the actually fine required by the Rhode Island DUI law. Some of these other financial penalties include DMV fees, statutory assessments, court costs, mandatory supplemental insurance and increased insurance rates.
Contact Attorney Matthew Marin for a detailed evaluation of your case and the financial and legal hurdles you are facing. We are available 24/7 at 401-228-8271 and can schedule a convenient DUI defense strategy session quickly to begin working for you.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment