From Nick on February 3rd, 2018 I cannot say enough great things about Matt. He is so well liked by everyone and when he walks into the courtroom it opens up to him. As I was researching for a criminal defense attorney to represent myself, I had certain qualities in mind that I was looking fo...
Lets take a moment to smile at those whom can made some fun out of a usually intense situation.1. A man with moves 2. An unexpected fairy tale ending https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GPDUHtrPoR83. A questionable sobriety test https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SI1dSnQv3ok
We hope you enjoy our collection of random driving facts from around the world and even near you! 1. The traffic where you live might be impacting your social skills.People who live on streets with more traffic spend less time outside and have fewer friends. From SafeAuto 2. Are you more likely to...
As travel is in high gear, we want to lend some friendly advice to our followers. Below weve outlined a few quick and simple tips to protect yourself, your home and your presents as you travel for the holidays!
Law Offices of Matthew T. Marin, Esq. Inc. recognized as one of the top 3 DWI Defense Attorney's in Providence, Rhode Island by Three Best Rated®. This unpaid recognition is given to businesses that lead in Three Best Rated's 50 point inspection.
In the State of Rhode Island a motorist does not have the right to choose which chemical test he or she would prefer to take; they simply have the right to consent or refuse to consent to the test as requested.
We very often speak with potential clients who have been charged with driving under the influence and refusal to submit to a chemical test. In many cases, they are very confused about the particular charges they are facing because they are facing charges of chemical test refusal and DUI even though they took a breath test when the police asked.
While Miranda rights are not legally required to successfully prosecute a DUI case in Rhode Island, certain statutorily created rights are absolutely required.
Yes, the Rhode Island DUI law allows the police to arrest you for DUI on private property (even while they cannot do the same in Massachusetts). But, if you are charged with DUI on private property you should seek the representation and guidance of an experienced Rhode Island DUI lawyer to explore and utilize any potential defenses that may be available to you.
A pre-arraignment conference is a proceeding before the Providence Superior Court that is handled in Courtroom 5G in the Garrahy Judicial Complex located at 1 Dorrance Plaza, Providence, RI 02903. Courtroom 5G is located on the 5th floor of the Garrahy Judicial Complex.
In most cases the Bail Commissioner will set bail and you will be released from the Police Station with paperwork to appear in Court. Your first Court appearance is referred to as a “Re-Arraignment” or District Court arraignment.
An arrest for possession and/or use of a fake ID in Rhode Island is a serious offense for any young man or woman. If convicted of a first offense, you would face a 30 day loss of drivers license, up to a $500 fine, and 30 hours of community service. These penalties are extremely severe an intended to scare people into not using fake id's.
The question we are asked the most is whether it is “worth it” to hire a lawyer to handle my possession of alcohol by a minor case. In my opinion, it is worth it just to have the piece of mind to know that your son or daughter will not be heading into a criminal court system alone and unaware.
The Police can, and in most cases likely will, arrest you if you are drunk in a parked car. However, with the help of an experienced Rhode Island DUI defense lawyer it may be difficult for a prosecutor to obtain a criminal conviction beyond a reasonable doubt.
If your college student son or daughter has been arrested and charged with DUI in Rhode Island, you are probably worried about many of the same things that our former and current clients have been worried about: is my investment in my son or daughter’s college education going to go to waste?
In Rhode Island, it is possible that the Police will report your DUI arrest to your college. We have represented hundreds of college students arrested and charged with drunk driving in our nearly a decade of experience. There is no uniform or standard way that DUI arrests are handled when it comes to the arresting Police Department notifying the school.
For individuals over the age of 21, the legal blood alcohol limit in Rhode Island in 2017 is 0.08%. Above this limit, you are deemed by law to be driving under the influence in the State of Rhode Island.
One of the unknowns you may face is the impact that a DUI charge could potentially have on your ability to receive financial aid from the government. To know if your FAFSA, or free application for federal student aid, will be impacted depends on the particular charge or charges that you are facing.
In Rhode Island, the penalties for boating under the influence can be extremely severe. Every person who operates a boat under the influence with a blood alcohol content in excess of 0.10 or whose blood alcohol content is unknown will, if convicted, but guilty of a misdemeanor. The Court will impose a mandatory fine, community service, and potentially a prison sentence of up to one year.
The Rhode Island DMV maintains a list of approved ignition interlock providers. Each one of these will satisfy a Rhode Island District Court or Traffic Tribunal Order requiring an ignition interlock device.
A Rhode Island DUI conviction can cause serious negative consequences when seeking employment. Typically, a part of each and every job application will involve answering questions about your criminal history. Depending on the type of job you are seeking, the questions may also request information about your driving record and violation history.
If you hold a Massachusetts drivers license, navigating a Rhode Island DUI case can be extremely difficult. Typically, the Commonwealth of Massachusetts will not take action on your Massachusetts drivers license while your Rhode Island DUI case is still pending.
We are pleased to announce a successful ruling made in the appeal of a chemical test refusal conviction on behalf of one of our Clients. Our Client had been charged with a chemical test refusal by the Burrillville Police Department in October of 2013. The case proceeded to trial at the Rhode Isla...
In Rhode Island, an ignition interlock license is a limited privilege to operate a motor vehicle that is typically imposed as part of a sentence on a DUI or chemical test refusal case.
In Rhode Island, an ignition interlock device is a device that prevents individuals from operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol. The device operates as a breathalyzer attached to an individuals vehicle.