Close X

RHODE ISLAND ELDER ABUSE DEFENSE LAWYER

If you have been accused of elder abuse, it is vitally important that you hire an experienced and aggressive legal Rhode Island Elder Abuse Defense Lawyer. Being charged with a crime like elder abuse often has immediate and lasting effects on your job, your loved ones, your family and your reputation, even if you are completely innocent. Without the help of an aggressive, experienced and dedicated criminal defense attorney, fighting such a charge can be overwhelming and scary.

Rhode Island Elder Abuse Penalties

• ASSAULT ON PERSON OVER SIXTY (60) YEARS OLD
o Felony Charge,
o Up to Five (5) Years in Jail,
o Up to One Thousand Dollar ($1,000) Fine

• ASSAULT ON PERSON OVER SIXTY (60) YEARS OLD – SERIOUS BODILY INJURY
o Felony Charge,
o Minimum of Three (3) Years to Maximum of Twenty (20) Years in Jail,
o Up to Ten Thousand Dollar ($10,000) Fine
o Full Restitution for Victim
o Minimum of Five Hundred (500) Hours of Community Service

• ASSAULT ON PERSON OVER SIXTY (60) YEARS OLD BY CARETAKER
o Felony Charge,
o Up to Five (5) Years in Jail,
o Up to Two Thousand Five Hundred ($2,500) Fine

• ASSAULT ON PERSON OVER SIXTY (60) YEARS OLD BY CARETAKER – SERIOUS BODILY INJURY
o Felony Charge,
o Minimum of Two (2) Years to Maximum of Twenty (20) Years in Jail,
o Up to Ten Thousand Dollar ($10,000) Fine,
o Full Restitution for Victim,
o Minimum of Five Hundred (500) Hours of Community Service

Contact an Experienced Rhode Island Elder Abuse
Criminal Defense Lawyer at 401-228-8271 or emailing us at [email protected]

Rhode Island Elder Abuse Laws

§ 11-5-10 Assault on persons 60 years of age or older causing bodily injury.

Any person who shall commit an assault and battery upon a person sixty (60) years of age or older, causing bodily injury, shall be deemed to have committed a felony and shall be imprisoned not exceeding five (5) years, or fined not exceeding one thousand dollars ($1,000), or both.

§ 11-5-10.1 Assault on persons 60 years of age or older causing serious bodily injury.

(a) Any person who shall commit an assault or battery, or both, upon a person sixty (60) years of age or older, causing serious bodily injury, shall be deemed to have committed a felony and shall be imprisoned for not less than three (3) years but not more than twenty (20) years, or fined not more than ten thousand dollars ($10,000), or both. Every person so convicted shall be ordered to make restitution to the victim of the offense or to perform up to five hundred (500) hours of public community restitution work or attend violence counseling and/or substance abuse counseling, or any combination of them imposed by the sentencing judge. The court may not waive the obligation to make restitution and/or public community restitution work. The restitution and/or public community restitution work shall be in addition to any fine or sentence which may be imposed and not in lieu of the fine or sentence.

(b) "Serious bodily injury" means physical injury that:
(1) Creates a substantial risk of death;
(2) Causes protracted loss or impairment of the function of any bodily part, member or organ; or
(3) Causes serious permanent disfigurement.

§ 11-5-10.3 Assault on persons 60 years of age or older by caretaker causing bodily injury.

Any person who shall commit an assault and battery upon a person sixty (60) years of age or older, causing bodily injury, and who was, at the time of the assault and battery, responsible for the care and treatment of the victim, shall be deemed to have committed a felony and shall be imprisoned not exceeding five (5) years, or fined not exceeding two thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500), or both. Further, if at the time of the assault and battery the person committing the act was employed by a health care facility that either condoned the act or attempted to conceal it, the health care facility shall be fined not exceeding five thousand dollars ($5,000).

§ 11-5-10.4 Assault on persons 60 years of age or older by caretaker causing serious bodily injury.

(a) Any person who shall commit an assault or battery, or both, upon a person sixty (60) years of age or older, causing serious bodily injury, and who was, at the time of the assault and battery, responsible for the care and treatment of the victim, shall be deemed to have committed a felony and shall be imprisoned for not less than two (2) years but not more than twenty (20) years, or fined not more than ten thousand dollars ($10,000), or both. Further, if at the time of the assault and battery the person committing the act was employed by a health care facility that either condoned the act or attempted to conceal it, the health care facility shall be fined not exceeding fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000). Every person so convicted shall be ordered to make restitution to the victim of the offense or to perform up to five hundred (500) hours of public community restitution work or attend violence counseling and/or substance abuse counseling, or any combination of them imposed by the sentencing judge. The court may not waive the obligation to make restitution and/or public community restitution work. The restitution and/or public community restitution work shall be in addition to any fine or sentence which may be imposed and not in lieu of the fine or sentence.

(b) "Serious bodily injury" means physical injury that:
(1) Creates a substantial risk of death;
(2) Causes protracted loss or impairment of the function of any bodily part, member or organ; or
(3) Causes serious permanent disfigurement.

Attorney Marin Named A Super Lawyers Rising Star Four Consecutive Years 2014-2017

Attorney Matthew Marin was named a Rhode Island Rising Star by Super Lawyers for 4 consecutive years from 2014 thru 2017. Each year, no more than 2.5 percent of the lawyers in Rhode Island are selected by the Research Team at Super Lawyers to receive this honor. Super Lawyers selects lawyers who have attained a high degree of peer recognition and professional achievement in their practice area.


Rhode Island Member of the National College for DUI Defense

Attorney Marin is a Rhode Island General Member of the National College for DUI Defense. Members represent some of the most experienced and cutting edge DUI defense attorney's throughout the Country. Nationwide, DUI laws are extremely complex and constantly changing and the College facilitates the exchange of innovative defenses throughout the Country.

NCDD National College for DUI Defense: Matthew Marin